A short history of Aus IFCR

A Short History of Aus IFCR

Membership of IFCR in Australia has grown to its current 220 from its beginnings in 1993 when Gordon Fenwick of Adelaide met with founder of IFCR, Geoffrey Pike, at the RI Convention in Melbourne.

Our branch has been well served in turn by inaugural president, Peter Daly, from New South Wales and his successors, David Breusch, Charles Townsing, Don McQueen, Ian Petherick, David Horsley, Bruce Pooley, Bob Brigden and current president Patrick O’Shea.

Touring has been a highlight in the lives of many of our members. Visits have been undertaken to England, New Zealand, South Africa and India as well as participation in the all five World Rotary Cricket Festivals at Fordingbridge (UK), Chennai (India), Christchurch (NZ), Hunter Valley (Australia) and Colombo (Sri Lanka).

On the domestic level, many fixtures have taken place in all the mainland states. Places as widely dispersed as Bathurst, Armidale, Cessnock, Wagga Wagga and Young in New South Wales, Mildura, Strath Creek, Maryborough, Melbourne, Wodonga and Benalla in Victoria, Bundaberg and Brisbane in Queensland, Adelaide in South Australia and Perth, Bunbury, Busselton and Kalgoorlie in Western Australia have all hosted IFCR fixtures.

Some of our cricket matches and tournaments have been the beneficiaries of equipment donated by sporting goods companies such as Puma and Kookaburra.

Our member, Don McQueen, established the Hume & Hovell Cricket Ground at Strath Creek, which is no more than two hours north of Melbourne an English ‘village green’ style cricket ground which has become recognised in recent years as the spiritual home of Australian IFCR.